• Con Diary: Geek Girl Con ’19

    Con Diary: Geek Girl Con ’190

    Last year I declared Geek Girl Con my ideal convention experience. It came at the right time, a hard time, and it was a huge, necessary step in deciding how I want to live my life. I’m pleased to report that this year that holds true despite some absolutely incredible convention experiences.

    READ MORE
  • A Book Fair for Grownups from Penguin Random House

    A Book Fair for Grownups from Penguin Random House0

    In Midtown Manhattan last month, the publisher Penguin Random House hosted a Book Fair for Grownups. Themed loosely on the elementary school book fairs many of us may remember from our childhood, the event was a little bit like returning to childhood, but also had a club atmosphere with a line of people outside waiting

    READ MORE
  • Discovering We Ride Upon Sticks at the NYCC Book Club

    Discovering We Ride Upon Sticks at the NYCC Book Club0

    New York Comic Con boasts several events every year, ranging from panels of superstars to custom sketches by beloved artists, to themed “experiences.” This year, it also included a series of NYCC book club meetings featuring a range of different upcoming books to be published by Penguin Random House. For each one, interested con attendees

    READ MORE
  • LibraryCon Summons “All Book Nerds, Librarians, and Fans of Graphic Novels, SF, and Fantasy”

    LibraryCon Summons “All Book Nerds, Librarians, and Fans of Graphic Novels, SF, and Fantasy”0

    Returning for its third year, LibraryCon opened its virtual doors for one day on November 6, welcoming book nerds, librarians, educators, and fans of comics and speculative fiction. Offering live webcast talks and ample networking opportunities, LibraryCon is a “celebration of fandom-beloved stories and characters, featuring the creators behind mind-bending speculative fiction, innovative comics, and

    READ MORE
  • Con Diary: EXPCon 2019

    Con Diary: EXPCon 20190

    EXPCon is a smaller convention located in Florida that has an interesting history. It was started in 2008, and ran for 4 years until 2011 before the convention went on hiatus. The convention made a comeback in 2017 by bringing all four voice actors for the game Final Fantasy XV all together for the first

    READ MORE
  • The Anonymous heART Project Touches and Teaches Hearts Through Art

    The Anonymous heART Project Touches and Teaches Hearts Through Art0

    In 2018, Heart Research UK introduced the Anonymous heART Project to help the organization inspire and invest in pioneering medical research, training, and education to improve heart health among their communities. Sending out hundreds of A5 postcards to famous creatives such as Robert Smith, Keith Lemon, and Alan Titchmarsh, the project received a resounding response and a

    READ MORE