Category: Con Diaries

A screenshot of the 2019 LibraryCon virtual entrance

LibraryCon Summons “All Book Nerds, Librarians, and Fans of Graphic Novels, SF, and Fantasy”

Returning for its third year, LibraryCon opened its virtual doors for one day on November 6, welcoming book nerds, librarians, educators, and fans of comics and speculative fiction. Offering live webcast talks and ample networking opportunities, LibraryCon is a “celebration of fandom-beloved stories and characters, featuring the creators behind mind-bending speculative fiction, innovative comics, and…

A stylized character with purple-skin tone, donning a blue hairstyle holds a giant pen over their right shoulder. They lean over the block of text: 'Bluestockings Comics Festival'.

Bluestockings’ Inaugural Queer + Trans Comics Fest 2019

Conventions and art shows tend to grow with success, but that growth can come at the cost of exponentially increasing competition in ways many of its exhibitors cannot keep up with. The number of attendees increase year by year, inevitably encouraging greater involvement with corporate interests. Cost-effectiveness becomes a question, as the commercialization and franchising…

Close
Menu