Month: August 2014

digital comics museum. Out of this world adventures 001

Nine Worlds: Days 2&3

Saturday/Sunday: Life is not non-stop suffering and the meanness of white people My second day at Nine Worlds began with a very well-attended debate between several writers – including Joanne Harris, author of The Gospel of Loki – over which was better: dragons, werewolves, vampires, or warlocks. Topics covered included each species’ body odor, fashion…

Ghost in the Shell Arise: Sleepless Eye cover, 2013, Fujisaki Junichi, Ooyama Takumi

Ghost in the Shell: The Major’s Body (6) [Trigger warning: rape culture]

The Major, or Motoko Kusanagi, is the protagonist of each incarnation of the Ghost in the Shell manga-anime-merchadise franchise. If you care to google, Motoko Kusanagi is autocompletes to “a man” and “is hot,” then “in bed with a boy” and “in bed.” For a science-fiction philosophy character named for her military position, we (the audience — although I don’t…

September All Age Comics/Books

Cast Away on the Letter A: A Philemon Adventure Fred (A) & (W) TOON-Books Release Date 9/9 Philemon Adventures were originally a french fantasy comic strip that appeared regularly in the magazine Pilote. Never before translated into English, this is the first introduction of the comic to English speaking audiences. The original strips were serialized…

The Handmaid's Tale, Margaret Atwood, vintage books edition, cover artist unknown

Reading Diaries

WWAC writers and the world of prose Megan This month has been a blur. What did I read? What is my name? Instead of just talking about what we’ve been reading, I’d like to know about a book that was important to you but on reread, your feelings were different. Did you feel betrayed by…

The Return of Zita the Spacegirl Ben Hatke First Second, 2014

Review: The Return of Zita the Spacegirl

The Return of Zita the Spacegirl Ben Hatke First Second, 2014 The Return of Zita the Spacegirl really couldn’t be published fast enough! I couldn’t wait to read the last of Zita’s space trilogy. I love Zita. I want to be Zita. Her outfit is utilitarian but practical. She’s spunky without being annoying; determined without…

Television On Smartphone Stock Image. Stuart Miles, published on 26 September 2012. TV.

#WWACTV: Doctor Who Offers Some Zzzz, Legends is Bean’s Orphan Black & The Honourable Woman Takes A Bow

The #WWACTV chat is where the casual TV viewer and the self-professed (or in denial) addict discuss the newest shows and some old favourites. Our latest chat occurred on August 24th when we looked at two weeks of television goodness (August 11th-August 24th), but there weren’t many shows I was checking out that premiered or had a finale in…

Incredible Indie Tu-Wednesday

Creator Farel Dalrymple talks upcoming graphic novel about kids in weird, dystopic future For readers of Image’s Prophet revival, Farel Dalrymple’s work should feel familiar. After working mostly in alternative comics, he took a spin on the sci-fi book during its run before setting out to work on The Wrenchies, his upcoming graphic novel from First…

Close
Menu