• Articles
    • Views
    EDITOR

    Emily Lauer

    In addition to being a contributor to the site, Emily Lauer is the Pubwatch Editor for WWAC. She teaches writing and literature at Suffolk County Community College where she studies comics, kids' books, adaptations and visual culture. She lives in Manhattan with her husband, daughter and dog.

Author's Posts

  • Read-Alikes: Welcome to the Fantastic Worlds of Diana Wynne Jones

    Read-Alikes: Welcome to the Fantastic Worlds of Diana Wynne Jones0

    When I was a kid, I read my paperback copy of Witch Week by Diana Wynne Jones so many times that the binding fell apart. As much as I enjoyed it, I remember having a lot of questions during my rereads. For example, I can remember wondering, “Why does it seem like I am supposed to

    READ MORE
  • NYCC: Escape the World

    NYCC: Escape the World0

    On the Friday of New York Comic Con (NYCC), as I descended into the depths of the Javits Center in search of Artist Alley, I had one thing on my mind: how could I balance having fun at this con with my justified worry about American politics? With that in mind, I toured Level 1,

    READ MORE
  • An Interview With Sarah Stern, Comics Person

    An Interview With Sarah Stern, Comics Person0

    Sarah Stern has provided the rich color work I’ve appreciated in many BOOM! titles, including Goldie Vance and Giant Days. At FlameCon this summer, I was excited to meet her and to be introduced to her webcomic, Cindersong. Sarah, whose business card reads, “Comics Person,” balances between solo work on Cindersong and color work on various

    READ MORE
  • The Ballad of Halo Jones Finishes Growing Up in Volume 3

    The Ballad of Halo Jones Finishes Growing Up in Volume 30

    The Ballad of Halo Jones Volume 3 Alan Moore (writer), Ian Gibson (artist), Barbara Nosenzo (colorist) 2000 AD September 18, 2018 The thrilling conclusion of a good origin story is simultaneously satisfying and tantalizing. This three-volume arc of The Ballad of Halo Jones feels that way. It’s a great ending, but a bittersweet one, because

    READ MORE