Tag: Kids Comics

Ailis and Naya surrounded by astrals and a creepy masked face floating above a creepy house

Svetlana Chmakova Goes Back to Nightschool With The Weirn Books: Be Wary of The Silent Woods

Award-winning creator Svetlana Chmakova goes back to nightschool with a new series, The Weirn Books: Be Wary of The Silent Woods. The first story, available now from Yen Press’ middle grade graphic novel imprint, JY, introduces us to Ailis Thornton and her cousin, Na’ya Leiburne-Thornton. Ailis is a 12-year-old weirn — a witch bound to…

A girl in a mask and tutu runs across buildings, smiling. Below, upside down, a girl with long white hair blowing in the wind has her arms folder. She looks annoyed

Kate Karyus Quinn, Demitria Lunetta, and Maca Gil Bring Two New Heroes to Gotham in DC Kids’ Anti/Hero

Piper is a super hero-in-training who has a lot to learn about taking the law into her own hands. When she stumbles on Sloane mid-crime, their paths continue to collide and intertwine in unexpected ways. Through a Freaky Friday-esque switch up, Anti/Hero explores the gray areas of heroics and villainy, class struggles, family life, family…

A screenshot of the 2019 LibraryCon virtual entrance

LibraryCon Summons “All Book Nerds, Librarians, and Fans of Graphic Novels, SF, and Fantasy”

Returning for its third year, LibraryCon opened its virtual doors for one day on November 6, welcoming book nerds, librarians, educators, and fans of comics and speculative fiction. Offering live webcast talks and ample networking opportunities, LibraryCon is a “celebration of fandom-beloved stories and characters, featuring the creators behind mind-bending speculative fiction, innovative comics, and…

Three girls stand together

Shannon Hale’s Best Friends is an Unintentionally Helpful Guidebook for Parents of Preteens

Best Friends Shannon Hale (writer), LeUyen Pham (illustrator), Hilary Sycamore (colourist) First Second August 27, 2019 Shannon Hale’s Best Friends is a graphic memoir of her elementary school experiences. The sequel to 2017’s Real Friends, it covers everything from body image issues to crushes, and all the emotional turmoil in between that is the life of…

Close
Menu