The Toronto International Film Festival’s focus on worldwide creativity and digital innovation continues with the TIFFxInstagram Shorts Festival on August 9 to 20, 2017. Now in its second year, the festival is now accepting submissions until July 30th for 60-second-or-less films on Instagram using the hashtag #TIFFxInstagram. Applicants must also complete a submission form at

The 2016 competition received submissions from all over the world that were viewed by Instagram users over four million times. The festival’s panel of directors included directors Ava DuVernay and Xavier Dolan, actor-director James Franco, actress Priyanka Chopra, cinematographer Ben Richardson, illustrator and animation artist Rachel Ryle, and music video director Nabil Elderkin. The jury selected 30 aspiring filmmakers, whose work was featured on the TIFF Instagram account, along with the fan-favourite film, HOPE, by filmmaker Mohamed Abdallah from Tunisia.

And finally, we're so thrilled to announce the Fan Favorite Award Winner of the #TIFFxInstagram Shorts Festival: HOPE by Tunisian filmmaker Mohamed Abdallah's (@mrtam13). Mohamed's film is an inspiring portrait of b-boy Emer Guesmi (aka Zulu Rema) @emeer_guesmi. "Emer lost his legs in an accident when he was young," said Abdallah, "I wanted to show what he feels inside when he is alone. I wanted to show how he finds joy and happiness through dance."​ ​Emer's story, like Mohamed's simple telling of it, fill us with hope and optimism, which feels like the perfect way to end our inaugural Shorts Festival. Thank you to all 30 filmmakers. Your work amazed us, and we can't wait to see what's next from you! #shortfilm #digitalshort #filmfestival

A post shared by TIFF (@tiff_net) on

“TIFF remains committed to discovering and nurturing the talent of up-and-coming filmmakers,” said Piers Handling, Director and CEO of TIFF. “The TIFFxInstagram Shorts Festival presents a unique opportunity for TIFF to engage with emerging talent on a global scale. This year, we hope TIFFxInstagram encourages even more talent internationally to create and submit films, highlighting perspectives and experiences from around the world.”

Once again, 30 finalists and a Fan Favourite will be spotlighted. The winners will be awarded a trip to Toronto to attend the Toronto Film Festival in September. This year’s jury includes French actress and Academy Award nominee Isabelle Huppert (La Cérémonie, Elle), actor Ashton Sanders (Moonlight), Canadian music video director Director X (“Hotline Bling,” “Get Busy”), John C. Jay, President, Global Creative, and Indian director and producer Karan Johar (Kabhi Alvida Naa Kehna, My Name Is Khan), with more judges to be announces shortly.