Today Warner Brothers held their shareholder meeting, during which they announced a plethora of upcoming movies – including the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them trilogy and all the LEGO movies you could want. But the real news was what they have planned for their DC Comics properties.  Not counting standalone Batman and Superman movies the schedule will be as follows.

“Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice,” directed by Zack Snyder (2016)
“Suicide Squad,” directed by David Ayer (2016)
“Wonder Woman,” starring Gal Gadot (2017)
“Justice League Part One,” directed by Zack Snyder, with Ben Affleck, Henry Cavill and Amy Adams reprising their roles (2017)
“The Flash,” starring Ezra Miller (2018)
“Aquaman,” starring Jason Momoa (2018)
“Shazam” (2019)
“Justice League Part Two,” directed by Zack Snyder (2019)
“Cyborg,” starring Ray Fisher (2020)
“Green Lantern” (2020)

Warner Brothers 2014 Zack Snyder

That’s a pretty great line-up but the real highlight for many fans will be the third one down that list.

Yes it’s finally happening.

The motion picture event we’ve been crying out for.

Wonder Woman is getting her own standalone film in 2017.

If we go by DC’s previously announced release dates, it’s probably safe to assume we’ll be seeing our Amazon Lady on the big screen on June 23 2017.

Since we haven’t seen Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman yet it’s too soon to make any definitive statements about what this film will be like or how the character will be treated. But one thing is for certain — this movie will bring Wonder Woman to a much larger audience, which is something she has long deserved.