Uncategorized

Incredible Indie Tu-Wednesday

Creator Farel Dalrymple talks upcoming graphic novel about kids in weird, dystopic future

For readers of Image’s Prophet revival, Farel Dalrymple’s work should feel familiar. After working mostly in alternative comics, he took a spin on the sci-fi book during its run before setting out to work on The Wrenchies, his upcoming graphic novel from First Second. It’s a non-linear book about kids growing up in a strange world that’s a mash-up of fantasy and sci-fi with an apocalypse or two thrown in for good measure.

Multicultural cast fighting for their lives in new sci-Fi series from Dark Horse

A book with a great premise and an awful title, Concrete Park: R-E-S-P-E-C-T comes out next week from Dark Horse, and the creators sat down with Bleeding Cool to talk about the series’ creation and inspiration. The story features characters caught in a harsh urban landscape on an inhospitable planet with little prospects to survive let alone thrive. This world previously appeared in the creators Erika Alexander and Tony Puryear’s stories in Dark Horse Presents and this upcoming miniseries barely scratches the surface of what the pair have to offer.

Writer Ron Marz on his upcoming John Carter series from Dynamite

After a long battle over the rights to Edgar R. Burrough’s classic pulp character, Dynamite is gearing up to produce its officially licensed John Carter: Warlord of Mars. The series, written by Ron Marz and drawn by Abhishek Malsuni, continues the pulp hero’s adventures on Mars and is full of danger and romance.