If You Went to SDCC, You’d Be Dead By Now!


Or, at least, shocked and horrified.

That is, if you were a denizen of the Newsflesh-verse.

The series, launched in 2010 by Orbit Books, is written by Mira Grant (aka Seanan McGuire) and explores multiple aspects of the world during and after a global zombie outbreak. The main trilogy focuses on the Mason siblings, bloggers who are following a campaign tour twenty odd years after the initial Outbreak.

Cover: The Last Stand of the California Browncoats, Mira GrantThe SDCC specific story, The Last Stand of the California Browncoats, takes place in the summer of 2014, during preview night. You can’t stop the signal, you can’t stop determined fans, and you can’t stop the zombie virus.

If you’re already at the big San Diego show, I can’t recommend reading while there; the close quarters and crowding will make Grant’s compelling storytelling hit a little too close to home. But once you get home, or if you’re not there, the novella is a good way to dip a toe into the Newsflesh-verse. Mind you don’t get them bitten off.


About Author

Jamie Kingston is a Native New Yorker, enduring a transplant to Atlanta. She’s a lifelong comic fan, having started at age 13 and never looked back, developing a decades-spanning collection and the need to call out the creators when she expects better of them. Her devotion extends to television, films, and books as well as the rare cosplay. She sates her need to create in a number of ways including being an active editor on the TV Tropes website, creating art and fan art, and working on her randomly updating autobiographical web comic, Orchid Coloured Glasses. As a woman of color, she considers it important to focus on diversity issues in the media. She received the Harpy Agenda micro-grant in November of 2015 for exceptional comics journalism by a writer of color.

Comments are closed.