Cover: The Queen of the TearlingThe Queen of the Tearling
Erika Johnson
HarperCollins

The Queen of the Tearling is the story of a young queen, Kelsea, taking the throne in a dangerous time. She has lived in hiding almost her entire life and has no practical experience running a country. But she sets out to rule by the strong values she has been taught – starting with the end of the slave trade. This may endear her to the downtrodden people of the Tearling, but only angers neighbouring queen, Mortmesne. Mortmesne has grown use to exploiting them for slave labour and war soon arrives on at the Tearling’s door. The Queen of the Tearling is the very definition of epic fantasy. Monarchy, assassins, magic, betrayal, and an unlikely hero. It’s been getting a lot of early buzz and with pages of rich world-building and unique characters, it deserves it.

— Christa

Cover: Strange and Ever After, Susan DennardStrange and Ever After
Susan Dennard
HarperTeen

The conclusion to Susan Dennard’s Something Strange and Deadly series is finally here! This story has travelled across the globe from Philadelphia, to Paris and now Egypt! Eleanor Fitt, her demon Oliver and the Spirit Hunters finally face their greatest foe, Marcus the necromancer, head on and the consequences if they lose will be dire. If you’ve already read the first two books in this series, don’t worry, this ending is everything you want it to be. And if you haven’t picked up Something Strange and Deadly yet and you like steampunk, fantasy and/or zombie novels you’re in luck – now you don’t need to wait between books! Eleanor Fiit is one of my favourite YA heroines and the the fast-paced adventure, combined with lots of action and an epic romance makes for one addictive story. Great for fans of Gail Carriger and Kate Locke.

— Christa

Cover: Lightspeed, June 2014Lightspeed Magazine, June 2014: Women Destroy Science Fiction!
Edited by Christie Yant
John Joseph Adams

It’s not too late to get the June issue of Lightspeed Magazine, a special anniversary edition entirely written and edited by women. The subtitle is a snarky nod to the notion that women can’t write – and don’t read – hard science fiction. Here is an entire issue to knock down that idea, featuring the talents of: Seanan McGuire, N.K. Jemisin, Charlie Jane Anders, Carrie Vaughn, Tananarive Due, Stina Leicht, Kameron Hurley. Mary Robinette Kowal has a roundtable interview with Ursula K. Le Guin, Pat Cadigan, Ellen Datlow, and Nancy Kress, and there’s a feature interview with comic book writer Kelly Sue DeConnick. It’s a great overview of some of the best female writers working today.